Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Eric Smith: One of Durham Lords Finest

Eric Smith joins the prestigious list of Durham Lords men’s basketball players to win the OCAA scoring title.

Eric Smith joins the prestigious list of Durham Lords men's basketball players to win the OCAA scoring title.

With the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) men’s basketball regular season in the books, Eric Smith of Durham College has earned the overall scoring and rebounding title.

Canada’s top men’s basketball talent will be heading to Oshawa as Durham College is hosting the 2011 Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA) national championship at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Centre from March 15-19, 2011.

The Ajax Ont. native led the province in scoring averaging 21.6 points per game and was the most dominant big man averaging 10.3 rebounds per game. Smith also finished sixth in assists with 56 on the year.

Smith had 11 double-doubles and scored 30 or more points in three games. In the month of February, he averaged 22 points and 10 rebounds per game, helping lead the Lords to a 15-5 conference record, finishing in second place in the OCAA east region.

Along with teammate Courtney Small, the Lords duo both eclipsed the 1,000 career point mark this season. Small had a standout season, finishing sixth in league scoring and second in assists.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

This will be the first time since 1998 that the Lords have qualified for the provincial championship, ending a 12-year drought. The OCAA championship is set to take place in Sault Ste. Marie from March 3-5, 2011.

The last time a Durham College player won the overall scoring title was back in 2007, when Anthony Batchelor averaged 25.3 ppg (complete list below).

The Lords also learned this weekend that their first round opponent at the OCAA Championship will be the Fanshawe Falcons out of London. Fanshawe defeated George Brown 75-39 in the OCAA qualifying round to advance to the provincial championship. It will be a rematch of the David Stewart tip-off tournament finals, where Durham picked up an 82-67 victory.

OCAA men’s basketball scoring champions from Durham College

1978-79 – Mark Koson – 22.0 ppg
1992-93 – Justin Fontaine – 20.6 ppg
1994-95 – Augusto Duquesne – 26.8 ppg
1998-99 – Bill Crowdis – 25.7 ppg
2006-07 – Anthony Batchelor – 25.3 ppg
2010-11 – Eric Smith – 21.6 ppg

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Sheridan Bruins star Jordan Grant discusses basketball, who he is on and off the court and what's next in his journey.


Watts leaves Lambton, en route to the NBA Draft, as one of the best athletes in school history.


Algoma University’s Jovain Wilson was named the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) men’s basketball player of the year in a ceremony held at Algonquin...


Durham College third year forward Eric Smith (Ajax, Ont.) has been named the 2010/11 Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) Player of the Year. Smith...


The Durham Lords showed why they will be a threat to all the teams across Canada when they step into their home floor come...


Mainstream Media vs. BloggersApril 7, 2:05 p.m. Without any real “new” info on Chris Bosh (yet) I wasn’t sure which direction to go in...

BasketballBuzz - Canada's Basketball Magazine